The Wines

Jura is France’s smallest designated wine region, and yet it’s one of the most complicated to understand. Here is a summary of the basic legal definitions of the wines produced. Some sections have links to more detail on the Wine Travel Guides website that I have already written.

Over time, I will write more on various styles, appellations and grapes and you will find these posts or pages in links reached from the menu above.

Five main grapes:
Whites: Chardonnay, Savagnin
Reds: Poulsard (also known as Ploussard), Trousseau and Pinot Noir

Four geographic appellations:
Arbois – all styles made in the area around the town of Arbois in the north.
Côtes du Jura – all styles made in designated regions from north to south excluding Arbois.
L’Etoile – no reds/rosés, but all the other styles – named after the village of the same name just north-west of Lons-le-Saunier.
Château-Chalon – only Vin Jaune – named after the village of the same name just north-east of Lons-le-Saunier.

Two style appellations:
Crémant du Jura – white or rosé sparkling wine made in the Traditional Method all over the region.
Macvin – sweet fortified wine, from a mixture of grape juice and brandy all over the region.

A plethora of colours and wine styles:
Reds that look like dark rosés, but are made in a red wine method.
Whites that may be light and fruity, oak aged in Burgundian style, or oxidative made like Vin Jaune.
Yellows (usually amber) – the famous Vin Jaune.
Dark amber, mahogany or copper tinged gold – Vin de Paille.
Pale greenish or pink with bubbles – Crémant du Jura.

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: